How did RCB qualify for IPL 2024 playoffs over CSK despite equal points in league stage | Ipl News

Royal Challengers Bengaluru completed a remarkable turnaround to their IPL 2024 fortunes, beating Chennai Super Kings 27 runs in their final league game at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Saturday to qualify for the playoffs.
After losing six matches on the trot in the first half of the season, Faf du Plessis’ men won their sixth successive match over CSK to finish level on points with three other teams — CSK, Lucknow Super Giants and Delhi Capitals – and yet squeeze into the last-four stage.
To qualify for the Playoffs despite a defeat in this match, CSK had to ensure a defeat no more than 17 runs. Chasing a 219-run target, CSK finished on 191 for seven despite late heroics from Ravindra Jadeja (42 not out off 22 balls) and a cameo from MS Dhoni (25 off 13).
Despite their consent losses, RCB made the qualification possible through their superior Net Run Rate (NRR) – the tiebreaker in case of equal points and wins for the four teams. RCB finished with an NRR of +0.459, followed CSK (+0.392), DC (-0.377) and LSG (-0.667).
Sent into bat, RCB skipper du Plessis (54) and Virat Kohli (47) put up 78 runs for the opening stand in 58 balls amidst a brief stoppage in play due to rain. The innings found its impetus when Rajat Patidar walked in at three and scored a quickfire 41 off 23 balls alongside Cameron Green (38 not out off 17) during a 71-run partnership.
The CSK bowlers were found wanting as they conceded the joint-most (218) them at the Chinnaswamy. Though RCB had never defended a 200-plus total against CSK before, the Super Kings were themselves found pushing for their first 200-run total in a run-chase since 2020. The last time CSK completed a successful 200-plus run chase was in 2018.
Interestingly, this is also the first time CSK will finish at the fifth spot on the points table across 17 editions. They have previously failed to qualify for the Playoffs on only two other occasions, finishing seventh in 2020 and ninth in the 2022 edition.
Meanwhile, with six consecutive wins, RCB have earned their second-best winning run ever in the IPL, only behind their seven consecutive wins in the 2011 edition where they lost to CSK in the final.
Get latest updates on IPL 2024 from IPL Points Table to Teams, Schedule, Most Runs and Most Wickets along with live score updates for all matches. Also get Sports news and more cricket updates.

Related Articles

Back to top button