India squads for South Africa, talking points: From Shreyas Iyer’s return to Tests to Ravindra Jadeja’s T20I promotion | Cricket News

On Monday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India named multiple squads for India’s all-format tour of South Africa where the Test series will especially be in focus.
The selectors looked beyond two Test veterans while potential future stars were given a break. Only Mukesh Kumar, Shreyas Iyer and Ruturaj Gaikwad were named for all three formats.
Here are a few key takeaways that emerged
– Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara are not part of the Test squad. Shreyas Iyer makes a comeback, while Ruturaj Gaikwad has been drafted in.
What this means: The selectors have looked beyond the old guard of Rahane and Pujara. If they were in the scheme of things for the future, they would have been part of India’s quest to win the first-ever series in SA.
Cheteshwar Pujara (L) and Ajinkya Rahane batting together. (FILE)
– Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah doesn’t just return to Test cricket after 17 months but he also reclaims his position as Rohit Sharma’s deputy.
What this means: Bumrah is still the bowling spearhead in the longest format and is also being seen as a leader.

– KL Rahul is named as the back-up wicketkeeper in Tests behind Ishan Kishan, replacing KS Bharat.
What this means: The KS Bharat experiment has failed. He didn’t look the part as a Test batsman.
– Seamer Mukesh Kumar, who had a good outing in the West Indies, is named among the three players all three India squads announced. The other two all-format players are Shreyas Iyer and Ruturaj Gaikwad.

What this means: Fast bowler Mukesh is being seen as an all-format bowler and selectors believe he can step it up.
– Ravindra Jadeja gets a place in the T20I squad and is named the team vice-captain.
What this means: Jadeja is part of the leadership group but not captaincy material as he is deputy to Suryakumar Yadav. It also is an indication that he is perhaps ahead of Axar Patel in the scheme of things for the World Cup.

– Having performed well in the 50 overs World Cup; Shubman Gill, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mohammed Siraj are in the T20 squad.
What this means: Kuldeep and Siraj are in the mix for next year’s T20 World Cup. Gill is a sureshot.
– Sai Sudharsan and Rajat Patidar have an opportunity to play for India for the first time after being named in the ODI squad.
What this means: Both have the potential to play for India in white-ball cricket.
Yuzvendra Chahal in action. (FILE)
Yuzvendra Chahal returns to international cricket after being named in the ODI squad.

What this means: The leg-spinner gets another opportunity to show his worth in white-ball cricket after not being part of the World Cup squad and the recent T20Is against Australia.
Mukesh Kumar, Shreyas Iyer and Ruturaj Gaikwad are in the main squads in all three formats.
What this means: Selectors believe they have the skills to succeed in all formats.

Related Articles

Back to top button