India vs Australia: Suryakumar Yadav to lead Indian team in T20I series at home vs World Cup champions | Cricket News

Suryakumar Yadav will lead the Indian cricket team against the Australians in the five-match T20I series which starts just four days after the Aussies claimed their sixth World Cup title defeating India six wickets at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.
Ruturaj Gaikwad will be Surya’s deputy for the first three games, while Shreyas Iyer will join the squad as vice-captain for the last two T20Is in Raipur and Bengaluru.

Surya was handed over the reins of the team in the absence of Hardik Pandya, who picked up an injury at the recently-concluded Cricket World Cup. The Baroda all-rounder lost his balance while trying to stop a shot from Bangladesh opener Liton Das and dragged his right boot while landing on the pitch. As The Indian Express had reported, it is likely that the ankle injury will keep Pandya out for at least another two months.Most Read
What happens to your body if you only eat fruits for 72 hours?

World Cup final: After defeat to Australia, Rahul Dravid says India ‘gave everything’; unsure about his own future

See More

This means he will miss the upcoming T20I series at home against Australia and is also likely to miss three T20Is and three ODIs in South Africa.
Here is India’s full squad for the T20I series against Australia
Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar. (Note: Shreyas Iyer will join the squad as vice-captain for the last two T20Is in Raipur and Bengaluru.)
Here is the full schedule for India’s T20I series against Australia
November 23: 1st T20I @ Visakhapatnam
November 26: 2nd T20I @ Thiruvananthapuram
November 28: 3rd T20I @ Guwahati
December 1: 4th T20I @ Raipur
December 3: 5th T20I @ Bengaluru

Related Articles

Back to top button