Madhya Pradesh

MP Congress organizational poll meeting in Delhi today

BHOPAL: Congress’ Central Election Authority has called a meeting with all 51 DROs (district returning officers) appointed to conduct party organisational polls in Madhya Pradesh on Friday.
The meeting with be headed by former Union minister Pawan Bansal who is the PRO (pradesh returning officer) and the two assistant PROs – Rajkumar Katariya and Jeetendra Singh Kansana.
Sources in the state PCC said that instructions will be given on elections to be held at the 488 blocks and 51 district levels of the Congress party.
Speaking to TOI, state PCC organisational general secretary Chandrika Prasad Dwivedi said, “Elections at the 64,000 booth committees have been completed.
After Friday’s meeting, elections will be held at the blocks and then the districts. Each booth committee has elected one president, two vice-presidents, one treasurer and one block delegate.”
Election Commission has set December 31 as deadline for Congress organisational elections.

In Madhya Pradesh, the election schedule is running late and it seems difficult to complete the party’s elections here by end of September as it was previously decided. Now, the polling of state PCC chief would definitely roll into the second week of October, if not later.
After Friday’s meeting, the DROs will call a meeting with BROs (block returning officers) and hold elections at each block to elect one block president, two vice-presidents, one treasurer, 25 working committee members and six district committee (DCC) members.

The six DCC members of each block will elect the district office bearers. Eight blocks also send one AICC member to New Delhi.
“At every level from the booths to the AICC, we have 33% reservations for women. There are also reservations for SCs, STs and OBCs,” Dwivedi explained. After district level elections, the party will finally elect the state Congress president and PCC office-bearers and working committee. After organisational elections are over in the states, the scene moves to 24 Akbar Road for election of AICC president, vice-president, office bearers and central working committee members.

Related Articles

Back to top button